Recognizing the Accomplishments of IB Diploma Candidates

Collage of IB Diploma Candidates thumbnail183057

Locust Valley High School’s International Baccalaureate candidates were recognized for their accomplishments during a ceremony on April 29. Program coordinator Angela Manzo organized the event during which each student honoree shared information about themselves, including their college choice; intended major; Extended Essay subject, title and mentor; and which learner profile attribute they most closely identify with. The room filled with laughter as one after the other said that finishing their Extended Essay or assessments was their favorite moment of the IB program.

Congratulating the students were Superintendent of Schools Kenneth E. Graham, Ed.D., Board of Education President Brian T. Nolan and Locust Valley High School Principal Patrick DiClemente, each sharing words of pride and encouragement for the future. The students were applauded for their dedication to completing the most rigorous high school program available to them.

Ms. Manzo also honored faculty members Barbara Mierlak and Joseph Harrison, both retiring this year. Ms. Mierlak has served as the Extended Essay Coordinator and Mr. Harrison teaches Theory of Knowledge, a required course for all IB Diploma candidates. Both also serve as Extended Essay Mentors.

Congratulations to all of the following IB Diploma candidates on this impressive accomplishment:

Emily Barosin, Coby Bennett, Piper Bondy, Joseph Bousleiman, Johannes Bressel, Madeleine Driscoll, Karina Fox, Alexander Gianoukakis, Georgina Hutzel, Matthew Klein, Zophie Lemaitre, Sophia Marciano, Ryan Maselli, Isabella McGlone, Katie Meehan, Nicholas Pearse Bowden, Ezra Pietrafesa, Sabrina Raichoudhury, Timothy Sze, Quinn Torossian, Zachary Watson and Alexander Wysolovski.