Seven robotics teams have advanced to the finals in the FIRST Lego League robotics competition. The teams, from the middle school and Bayville and Locust Valley Intermediate Schools, were coached by parent volunteers and supervised by high school science teacher and robotics coach Alan Stella. The theme of the event, ‘Senior Solutions,’ charged teams with the task of
exploring the topic of aging and how age may affect a person's ability to maintain his or her lifestyle. After identifying challenges to aging, such as the inability to get around, the teams were responsible for solving these issues with an invention. Teams also built, tested, and programed an autonomous robot using Lego Mindstorms® to solve a set of missions on an
obstacle course.

Congratulations to the following participants:

Bayville Intermediate School

The Crazy Racing Robots - 2nd Place - Inspiration Award
Elizabeth Flory, Ryan Maselli, Ezra Pietrafesa, Noah Pietrafesa, Julia
Sabitino, Alexandra Weilert, Raymond Weilert, Chase Williams

Locust Valley Intermediate School

Robotic Falcons - 1st Place ­ Project Presentation
Chris Chiu, Tim Chiu, Salvatore Caizzo, Alex Giankakis, Joseph Keebler,
Isabella McGlone, Joseph Valli, Zach Watson, Alex Wyslowski

LEGO-letes - 2nd Place ­ Research Project
Anthony Bonadonna, Daniel Glavan, Hana Glavan, Lucas Johnson, Matthew
James Long

The Medicine Bottles -1st Place ­ Mechanical Design
Nils Coffey, Danny Dessner (6th Grade), Ethan Dessner, Jeremy
Mastrodomenico, Jordan Mastrodomenico

Locust Valley Middle School

Team #624 LV Lego Technix - 2nd Place - Innovative Solution Award
Diana Bianco, Brian Chasanoff, Giulia Maida, Daniel Schraeter,
Danielle Sisson, Michael Sisson,

Baybots  - 1st Place ­ Robot Performance Award  & 2nd Place Strategy and
Innovation Award (The Baybots earned the highest score of the day with 345
Bridget Bianco, Grace Carreccia, Charlotte Creedon, Rebecca Finke,
Mackenzie Henris, Jaye Liantonio, Ella Paz

Vectors  - 2nd Place ­ Programming Award
Matthew Boutros, Joe Cantore, Keenan Herlich, Alex Lawton, Mike Keshle,
Charles Saventti