Musical numbers, inspiring speeches, and impressive qualifications marked a traditional ceremony in which 95 Locust Valley High School students were inducted into the National honor Society. Grade point average, extra-curricular activities, community service, and character all play a role in being invited into this exclusive club.

Board of Education President Jack Dolce, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Anna F. Hunderfund, and High School Principal Dr. Kieran McGuire each spoke to the inductees about the hard work and dedication that brought them to this point. Current members of the National Honor Society welcomed the new members. President Hollace Francey, Vice-President Allison Huysman, and Treasurer Katelyn Tisch spoke about character, and led the ceremony.  Zoe Vinegar impressed attendees with a musical interlude on the piano, and National  Honor Society co-advisors Ms. Jennifer Masa and Ms. Courtney McKay installed the 2010-2011 officers, and also planned this very special evening.

The induction ceremony for National Honor Society typically includes a candle lighting ceremony and Locust Valley held to this tradition in a beautiful manner. Candles were lit for each of the character traits that personify the society. Inductee Marianne Leslie lit the candle for scholarship; John Quartuccio for   service; Karina Wrona for leadership; and James D’Arpa for character.  Afterwards, each of the inductees lit a candle and recited the pledge, in which they promised to uphold the high ideals of the National Honor Society.

Congratulations to the all of the inductees.